KSU Rolls Past Robert Morris for Best Start in Program History

The Kennesaw State Owls made history on Saturday. In their fourth game of the spring 2021 season, KSU took down Robert Morris 35-0 to go 4-0. It’s the first time in school history the Owls have won their first four games of the season.

KSU might be peaking at the right time as they played their best game of the year on Saturday. The Owls scored 21 points in the first quarter. Freshman quarterback Xavier Shepherd led the Owls on the opening drive, scoring on a 1-yard touchdown run. Later in the quarter, Robert Morris quarterback George Martin threw an interception to Owls linebacker Bryson Armstrong and returned it for a 75-yard touchdown. The reigning Big South Defensive Player of the Year finished with six tackles and two tackles for loss to go along with his interception.

The Owls increased their lead to 21 when running back Isaac Foster scored on a 20-yard run late in the first quarter. The Preseason Big South Offensive Player of the Year finished with 57 rushing yards on six carries.  In the second quarter, Shepherd showed off his passing skills by throwing a 33-yard touchdown pass to Will Haigler to increase the Owls’ lead to 28. The Owls got one more score when running back Adeolu Adeleke ran for a 15-yard touchdown in the fourth quarter.

The defense only surrendered 56 yards in the first half while holding the Colonials to 0-of-6 on third downs. Along with Armstrong’s pick-six, defensive linemen Desmond Scott and Peyton Moore recorded a sack in the shutout win.

“It’s great to be 2-0 in the league and it’s great to win again at home. It’s great for the defensive getting a shutout, it’s always huge getting a shutout in league play,” Owls coach Brian Bohannon said after the game. “The biggest thing today is we looked like ourselves in the first half and that is the first time truthfully all year I recall seeing Kennesaw State football.”

KSU will return to action next Saturday in a road contest against Monmouth. The winner will likely be the Big South Conference Champion.

Leave a Response